Diploma of knowledge of the Italian language Progetto Lingua Italiana Dante Alighieri PLIDA CERTIFICATION

Progetto Lingua Italiana Dante Alighieri


The PLIDA Certification is issued by the Central Site of the Dante Alighieri Society. It gives the linguistic qualification in Italian as a foreign language. According to the Common European Framework for Languages of the European Council, six levels of graduations are available (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2).


Beginning Italian                Plida A1           = A1 Q.C.E. (Level of contact)

                                        Plida A2           = A2 Q.C.E. (Level of survival)

Fundamental Italian            Plida B1           = B1 Q.C.E. (Level of threshold)

                                        Plida B2           = B2 Q.C.E. (Level of progress)


The Rome Branch of the Dante Alighieri Society is an Official Center of examination for the issuing of PLIDA Certification.

The PLIDA Certification is officially recognized by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (n. 1903 of 4 November 1993), by the Ministry of Labor and Welfare (decree of 18 October 2002) by the Ministry of Education, University and Research (11 February 2004) and it is issued with the scientific approval of the University “La Sapienza” of Rome (29 June 2004).

In accordance with the Ministry of the Interior decree of 4 June 2010, all foreigners who wish to obtain a long stay residence permit (PERMESSO DI SOGGIORNO DI LUNGA PERMANENZA) must demonstrate their knowledge of the Italian language: those who have already obtained the PLIDA Certificate level A2 (B1, B2…) are exempt from language tests organized by the Prefectures.



With the PLIDA Certification:

  • You can clearly indicate you level of Italian knowledge on your C.V.;
  • You can enrol to the Italian University without taking the exam of Italian language (level B2 o C1); ;
  • You can obtain the residence permit for long stay



All those who are not Italian speaking - also Italian citizens or Italians with a double citizenship - can take the PLIDA exams.
Also those with Italian as mother tongue can make the PLIDA exams for certificates, (like the bilingual patent in Alto Adige).
To subscribe to the exams you need to be a member of the Dante Alighieri Society. To become a member please turn to the Certification Centre where the exams are given.

The Rome Branch of the Dante Alighieri Society is an Official Center of examination for the issuing of PLIDA Certification.



Each level consists of four Tests that assess language competence in the four skills: listening, reading, writing, speaking.



A candidate must reach a minimum total score of 72/120 for the four language skills; for each language skill the minimum score accepted is 18/30.

The candidate who passes only one, two or three tests out of four, can redo the missed one or ones in the next exam session. These exams have to be done in one session within 365 days from the date of the first exam. If passing the exam, the achieved marks will be added to the already achieved one or ones.
To repeat a section of the exam, the candidate will pay only for that section and not for the whole exam.


The Syllabus describing the competences in the individual language skills required for each level. The Syllabus describes the typical communicative situations used in the Tests and the knowledge of grammar structures expected. It also describes the criteria of evaluation.